Board of Directors

The members of Autisme Montreal’s board are themselves parents of children with autism or people that work with individuals with autism. They are all volunteers.

Information about the next board meetings is available upon request.

Board of directors 2018-2018

Carmen Lahaie -President – Board Member since: 2011

Mrs. Lahaie is the mother of five children, who are now all adults, including one with ASD.  She has been an active member of Autisme Montréal since the ‘80s and has chosen to devote her life to the autism cause. In 1999, she received the Serena Merck Memorial Award as well as Centraide’s Antoinette-Robidoux award, for her dedication to the autism cause. In 2006, the Services de réadaptation L’Intégrale paid tribute to her for her significant contribution to the social integration of people with ASD or intellectual delay. She was President of the CRADI (Comité régional des associations pour la déficience intellectuelle), Vice-President of the FQA (Fédération québécoise de l’autisme) and founder of the Centre d’assistance et d’accompagnement aux plaintes.

Sylvie Mouna – Vice President – Board Member since: 2012

Mrs. Mouna is the mother of two children, including one with ASD. She comes from the Democratic Republic of the Congo, where she was working as a relief worker. She arrived in Quebec in 1996 as a refugee. Since 1999, she has been working in the community setting as an advocate for immigrant families. She is the recipient of the Projet Hommage aux Femmes, 2016 edition, supported by the City of Montreal, for her commitment to the autism cause with immigrant families.

Marie-Claire Gascon – Secretary-Treasurer – Board Member since: 2008 

Mrs. Gascon is the mother of an adult with Asperger’s Syndrome. She has retired in May 2015, after 31 years as an Administrative Assistant at the Fleury Hospital. She was confronted with many obstacles in her search for services to finally realize that they were non-existent for autistic adults. Then, she found out about Autisme Montréal and joined the organization to advocate and become more involved as Board Member.

Carol-Ann Hunter McLean – Administrator – Board Member since: 2017


Marjorie Aimé-  Administrator – Board Member since: 2018


Margaret O’Byrn – Administrator – Board Member since: 2018


Geneviève Perras- Administrator – Board Member since: 2018


Our sponsors